Madison Area Music Association Announces 2022 Award Winners

Recent News 16 Nov 2022

The Madison Area Music Association has announced the winners of the 2022 MAMA Awards which were held November 13, 2022. You can watch the full awards show presentation on the Facebook stream. If you haven’t seen the broadcast you are missing some incredible performance videos shot in various recording studios around town.

Because of the pandemic, the last two awards shows were pre-filmed and streamed. The organization looks to return to a live setting but no details are available on that yet.

A little confusing as well is the fact that the 2022 awards presentation – although held this late in 2022 – was for the year 2021. For 2023 the organization will move the show to the first half of the year, likely in June. No further details on that are available at this time. Registration for the 2023 awards (covering 2022) will be available soon.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Madison Area Music Association Awards 2022 Winners


Lifetime Achievement Award: Bob Queen


Teacher of the Year: Diane Dangerfield and Will Janssen – Mt. Horeb High School


Artist of the Year: WURK

Instrumentalist of the Year: Chris Wagoner

Album of the Year: Sam Ness – City Lights and Smoke

Song of the Year: WURK – “Ignition”

Performer of the Year: The Jimmys


Alternative Rock Album of the Year: Penelope’s ThrillTwilight on Tunnel Road

Alternative Rock Performer of the Year: Kat & the Hurricane

Alternative Rock Song of the Year: Jackie Ernst – “Faded”

Blues/Country Performer of the Year: Robert J.

Blues Song of the Year: Robert J./Rowdy Prairie Dogs – “Storm Watcher”

Children’s Performer of the Year: David Landau

Country Song of the Year: Robert J. – “57 Chevy”

Cover Band Performer of the Year: Steely Dane

DJ Performer of the Year: DJ Femme Noir

Folk/Country Album of the Year: Robert J/Rowdy Prairie Dogs – Barland

Folk Performer of the Year: The Whiskey Farm

Folk/Rock Performer of the Year: Mackenzie Moore

Folk/Country Song of the Year: Sam Ness – “Slow it Down”

Folk Alternative Song: John Duggleby – “Sunflowers (for Ukraine)”

Folk Americana Song: The Whiskey Farm – “Sunflowers”

Hard Rock/Punk Song of the Year: Tyler Durdin and Wolves & Sheep- “Love & Hate”

Hip-Hop/Rap Performer of the Year: K.I.L.O. aka SkItL’z

Hip-Hop/Rap Song of the Year: Danisa – “Dame Contacto”

Indie/Low-Fi Song of the Year: Old Oaks – “Wilted”

Jazz Album of the Year: Johannes Wallmann – Precarious Towers

Jazz Performer of the Year: Harmonious Wail

Jazz Song of the Year:Lo Marie – “The Bar”

Latin Performer of the Year: Tony Casteneda Latin Jazz Band

Latin Song of the Year: Rey Cruz – “Dura”

Modern Rock Song of the Year: John Masino – “Dreams of the World”

Pop Album of the Year: The Civil Engineers – Heads on Birds

Pop/R&B Performer of the Year: The Rascal Theory

Pop Song of the Year: Shekinah King – “I Got it From My Mom”

Pop Alternative Song of the Year: Jackie Ernst – “Undertow”

Pop/Rock Song of the Year: Bing Bong – “Make it Right”

R&B/Rap Album of the Year: Danisa – Ahora Estoy Mejor

R&B Song of the Year: Lo Marie – “The Gap”

Rock Album of the Year: The Solution – How Does it Feel?

Rock Performer of the Year: 20 Minute Mission

Rock Song of the Year: WURK – “Ignition”

Roots Rock/Americana Song of the Year: The Midwesterners – Pecatonica Mud

Unique Song of the Year: Shauncey Ali – “Vivian’s Waltz”

Wish You Were Here Performer of the Year: Combo Noir

Wish You Were Here Song of the Year: Shari Sarazin Harp & Song – “Poor Wayfaring Stranger”

World Performer of the Year:Danisa


New Artist of the Year: Jackie Ernst

Video of the Year: Lo Marie – “Gatekeeper”

Female Vocalist of the Year: Kelsey Miles

Male Vocalist of the Year: Derek Remnarace

Ensemble Vocals of the Year: The People Brothers Band

Live Sound Engineer of the Year: Audrey Martinovich

Local Live Music Venue of the Year: Bur Oak

Local Music Fan of the Year: Sybil Augustine
Local Music Publication/Blog of the Year: Tone Madison
Local Music Radio Personality of the Year: Cooper Talbot
Local Music Radio Station of the Year: WORT FM 89.9 FM
Local Recorded Music Store of the Year:  MadCity Music

Photographer of the Year: Jim Barnard
Producer of the Year: Buzz Kemper
Recording Studio of the Year: Audio for the Arts

Roadie of the Year: German Joseph Schrock (for Dana Perry/Cargo Coffee)
Studio Sound Engineer of the Year: Audrey Martinovich


Accordion: Nate Meng

Banjo: Chris Gruber

Brass – French Horn: Sarah Gillespie

Brass – Trombone: Jamie Kember

Brass – Trumpet: Jim Doherty

Brass – Tuba: Kyle Rightly

Drum Kit: Jenna Joanis

Guitar – Acoustic: Mark Croft

Guitar – Bass: Jeff Weiss

Guitar- Electric: Louka Patenaude

Guitar – Pedal Steel: John Hitchcock

Harmonica: Westside Andy

Keyboard – Organ: Jimmy Voegeli

Keyboard – Piano: Johannes Wallmann

Keyboard – Synthesizers: Noah Gilfillan

Mandolin: Rin Ribble

Percussion: Tony Casteneda

Percussion – Specialty: Maggie Delaney-Pothoff

Specialty Instrument – Kazoo: – Sam Ness

Strings – Bass: John Christensen

Strings – Cello: Mary Gaines

Strings – Specialty: Chauncey Ali

Strings – Violin: Chris Wagoner

Turntables/Decks: DJ Pain One

Woodwinds – Sax: Tony Barba

Woodwinds – Specialty: Hannah Edlen


About the author

Rick Tvedt

Rick is publisher of Local Sounds Magazine, formerly Rick's Cafe, Wisconsin's Regional Music Newspaper. He is also the Executive Director for MAMA, Inc., a non-profit organization that produces the Madison Area Music Awards and raises funds to promote youth music programs.

Leave A Reply

Leave A Reply