33rd Annual WAMIs Announce Winners

Recent News 15 Apr 2013












33rd Annual WAMIs Announce Winners

The 33rd annual Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) Awards were held Sunday night, April 14th at Turner Hall in MIlwaukee.

Three Madison artists scored big, including Sexy Ester, who represented as the MAMA Artist of the Year and gave a rousing performance.

Ida Jo won the Female Vocalsit of the Year Award. Photo courtesy of wamimusic.com

Ida Jo won the Female Vocalsit of the Year Award. Photo courtesy of wamimusic.com

Ida Jo walked away with Female Vocalist of the Year honors, a very prestigious win, indeed. Mama Digdown’s Brass Band won the Big Band/Horn Band of the Year.

The Majestic Theater was recognized in the Southwest Quadrant People’s Choice category for Live Music Venue.




The full list of winners is below:


WAMI Winners

Artist of the year: Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons

Album of the year: “Field Report,” Field Report

Song of the year: “I’ve Been Accused,” Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons

Female vocalist of the year: Ida Jo

Male vocalist of the year: Joseph “Smokey” Holman (Tweed Funk)

New artist of the year: Hugh Bob and the Hustle

Rising star of the year: Nora Collins

Singer-songwriter of the year: Tony Memmel

Alternative artist of the year: Field Report

Rock/pop artist of the year: Jaill

Hard rock artist of the year: Dead Modern Villains

Blues artist of the year: Alex Wilson Band

Americana/bluegrass artist of the year: The WhiskeyBelles

Rap/hip-hop artist of the year: Klassik

Jazz artist of the year: Jazz Orgy

Country artist of the year: Chasin’ Mason

Big Band/horn band of the year: Mama Digdown’s Brass Band

R&B/soul artist of the year: Charles Walker Band

World/reggae/ska artist of the year: R.A.S. Movement

Folk/Celtic artist of the year: Macyn Taylor

Christian/gospel artist of the year: Koiné

Club DJ/dance artist of the year: DJ Poizon Ivy

Polka artist of the year: The Squeezettes

Cover band of the year: Road Trip

Tribute band of the year: Project Pink

Keyboardist of the year: Alex Drossart (Shaker and the Egg)

Drummer of the year: Mike Underwood (Shaker and the Egg)

Bassist of the year: Eric Madunic (Tweed Funk, the Orphans)

Guitarist of the year: Ryan Rossebo (Chasin’ Mason)

Reeds/Brass player of the year: Mary Rodgers (Baritone Saxophone: Uptown Savages, Dead Man’s Carnival)

String player of the year: Blaine McQuinn (Fiddle: the Western Starlanders, the Brothers Quinn)

Studio of the year: Tanner-Monagle

Engineer/Producer of the year: Vinny Millevolte

Hall of Fame inductees: pat mAcdonald, Daryl Stuermer, Yipes!



Band: Rabid Aardvarks

Venue: Chill on the Hill

Radio station: 88.9 (WYMS-FM)

Music teacher: Derek Machan


Band: Pat Watters Band

Venue: Majestic Theater

Radio station: 97.1 WCOW-FM

Teacher: Janette Hanson


Band: Red Light Saints

Venue: Mill Creek

Radio station: 105.7 (WAPL-FM)

Teacher: Dave Jerabek


Band: Jerry Duginski

Venue: Malarkey’s Pub

Radio station: Z104 (WMZK-FM)

Teacher: Combined with Northeast due to low voting totals

← IDA JO – For Better, For Worse Crescendo Espresso Bar and Cafe Opens with Life Music →

About the author

Rick Tvedt

Rick is publisher of Local Sounds Magazine, formerly Rick's Cafe, Wisconsin's Regional Music Newspaper. He is also the Executive Director for MAMA, Inc., a non-profit organization that produces the Madison Area Music Awards and raises funds to promote youth music programs.

Leave A Reply

Leave A Reply