2019 MAMA Award Winners

Recent News 13 Jun 2019

Madison Area Music Association Awards

2019 Winners


Artist of the Year:            Wurk

Lifetime Achievement:   Gabby Parsons

Musicnotes Career:         Hanah Jon Taylor

Teacher of the Year:       Carrie Backman – Edgewood High School

Student of the Year:        Chelsea Melnick – Madison West High School

                                           Danielle Crum – Madison West High School


Song of the Year

Alternative:                      “Ambulance” – Wurk

Blues:                                  “Flash Flood” – Gin Chocolate and Bottle Rockets

Childrens’:                         “Superman” – Art Paul Schlosser & Frankie Pobar Lay

Country/Bluegrass:         “Grandpa’s Tattoos” – Driveway Thriftdwellers

Cover:                                 “What The World Needs Now” – Harmonious Wail

Electronic:                         “Saddle Mountain” – John Hitchcock

Folk/Americana:              “Artemis – The North Code

Hard Rock/Punk:              “Not Your Baby” – Mackenzie Moore

Hip-Hop:                            “The Monsta Remix (featuring Rob Dz)” – The Mascot Theory

Jazz:                                    “Embraceable You” – Carolynn Schwartz Black

Latin:                                   “Un Mundo Mejor – Angela Puerta

Pop/R&B:                           “Dealin’ with the Devi”l – Wurk

Rock:                                   “Mannequin” – Mackenzie Moore

Unique:                              “The Great Alone” – Dana Perry

World:                                “Treat Me Softly” – Angela Puerta

Album of the Year

Alternative:                       Veins – Mackenzie Moore

Blues:                                  Real for the Deal – Blythe Gamble and the Rollin’ Dice

Compilation:                     Wisconsin Vinyl Collective: Volume Two -Various Artists

Country/Bluegrass:         Driveway Thriftdwellers – Driveway Thriftdwellers

Electronic:                         Ghost Party – DEVL

Folk/Americana:              Lean – Gin Chocolate and Bottle Rockets

Hard Rock/Punk:              The Wonders of the Invisible World -Sunspot

Hip-Hop:                            Paradise Loss– EM-SEE-EMOTION

Jazz:                                    Holiday Spirits – Harmonious Wail

Pop/R&B:                           The Detroit Sessions – Sam Lyons

Rock:                                   The Devil’s Wurk – Wurk

Unique:                              The Good The Bad and The Dubby – Dub Foundation

Wish You Were Here:     Not As Cool As I Thought I Was – The First Rule

World:                                May Laya – Leslie Damaso

Performer of the Year

Alternative:                       Woodrow

Blues:                                  Kelsey Miles

Childrens’:                         David Landau

Classical:                            Wes Luke

Country/Bluegrass:         Sortin the Mail

Cover Band                        VO5

Folk/Americana:              The Lower 5th

Hard Rock/Punk:              Cats On Leashes

Hip-Hop:                            Kilo aka SkitL’z

Jazz:                                    Wurk

Latin:                                   Angela Puerta

New Artist:                        Grace Gladem

Pop/R&B:                           The People Brothers Band

Rock:                                   Sunspot

Unique:                              Grace Gladem

World:                                Nate Meng and the Stolen Sea



Ensemble Vocals:            The People Brothers Band

Female Vocalist:              Carolynn Schwartz Black

Male Vocalist:                  Sam Ness


Accordion:                         Nate Meng

Banjo:                                 Andrew  Christensen

Brass – Baritone:              Anneliese Valdes

Brass – French Horn:       Sarah Gillespie

Brass – Trombone:           Courtney Larsen

Brass – Trumpet:              Becky Lipsitz

Brass – Tuba:                     Scott Elsner

Drum Kit:                           Jenna Joanis

Guitar – Acoustic:             Dana Perry

Guitar – Bass:                    Pete Olig

Guitar – Electric:               Louka Patenaude

Guitar – Pedal Steel:        Ryan Knudson

Harmonica:                       Westside Andy

Keyboard -Organ:            Todd Phipps

Keyboard – Piano:            Michael Massey

Keyboard – Synthesizers Ryley Buchanan

Mandolin:                          Chris Wagoner

Percussion:                       Maggie Delaney-Potthoff

Specialty Instrument:     Lyndsay Evans

Strings – Bass:                   John Christensen

Strings – Cello:                  Allison Lenz

Strings – Harp:                  Matt DeBlass

Strings – Violin:                 Rin Ribble

Turntables/Decks:           DJ Pain One

Woodwinds – Sax:            Al Falaschi

Video of the Year:           “Un Mundo Mejor” – Angela Puerta

People’s Choice

DJ of the Year:                  Cooper Talbot

Fan of the Year:                Rokker

Live Music Venue:           High Noon Saloon

Live Sound Engineer:      Buzz Kemper

Packaging:                         Dawn and What Comes After – The Mascot Theory

Photographer:                  John Urban

Producer of the Year:     Jake Johnson

Radio Personality:           Cooper Talbot

Radio Station:                   WORT 89.9

Recorded Music Store    B Side Records

Recording Studio:            Audio for the Arts

Studio Sound Engineer   Landon Arkens

← Roy Elkins to Give Free Presentation This Tuesday Robert J Releases Protest Song and Video with an All-Star Cast of Local Greats →

About the author

Rick Tvedt

Rick is publisher of Local Sounds Magazine, formerly Rick's Cafe, Wisconsin's Regional Music Newspaper. He is also the Executive Director for MAMA, Inc., a non-profit organization that produces the Madison Area Music Awards and raises funds to promote youth music programs.

Leave A Reply

Comments are closed